A Commute to Work: Finding Awakening in Routine


“Your greatest awakening comes, when you are aware about your infinite nature.” Amit Ray*

*

*

I’m about to put my car into drive and start my morning commute. As I tear away the clear plastic of a new CD cover I notice my fingertips are laced with green tea powder, remnants of my breakfast energy boost. 

*

*

*
I think for a moment that I can still smell the burning sage on the package, one of my favorite sensory experiences associated with visiting the Spirit Wind store. It is one of those places that grounds you the second you walk in the door. It’s one of few spaces for me where the earth seems to instantly stop spinning. 

*

*

*

My most recent visit to the store, I didn’t want to leave. Before exiting with a purchase, I asked about the music playing and bought the drum CD as well. She carefully added the item to my check out bag, her long fingers dressed in intricately designed silver rings, laced in turquoise and tigers eye. I thought about how I would adore working there. 

*

*

*

I put the CD into the car’s player and I begin to drive. The “Sacred Earth” drum sounds immediately have a deep heavy presence within me and my body is awakened in ways I had forgotten were asleep. 

*

*

*

My pulse seems to sync with the pounding of the drums. At times I am light and floating on soft spring-like drum sounds and then other times I am brought down, heavy like stones on more serious, deep songs one may associate with troubles or human suffering. 

*

*

*

The red tail lights of the morning traffic in front of me blur with the drum sounds and become the warm pulsing blood of fresh kills, reminiscent of times and people’s who were more connected and grateful to all sources of life. 

*

*

*
My thumbs thump against the steering wheel echoing the tunes of stories where all people and earth were aware of their oneness. I press my foot into the break but imagine pushing my toes into soft earth, my body moving and lifted in the dance of energy, life and freedom. 

*

*

*

My car comes to a stop and I am at work. I turn off the engine and the CD stops. But as I gather my things to leave my car, I stop and I listen. My heart beat reverberates with the steady message of the drums. My spirit cleansed in the reminders of things most of us have forgotten. 

Leave a Reply

